Logo of the national citizen review panels

National Citizens Review Panels Virtual Community

Citizen Review Panels (CRPs) are federally mandated mechanisms for citizen participation in child protection, through evaluation and public outreach. Each state is required to have at least one CRP. Volunteer panel members conduct an evaluation of their state and local child protective services (CPS) agencies, and collect public opinion on CPS policies and services. This site contains resources and tips for CRPs, as well as information about each state's CRP, including annual reports, and training materials.

  Like the National CRP Facebook page for frequent updates.

Annual Reports

Annual reports for each state are available on the CRP Google Drive.

View the Reportsexternal link

State Information

Click a state for more information.

Alabama

Contact Information:

Mason Hobbie
Interim Coordinator
(251) 450-7204
Mason.Hobbie@dhr.alabama.gov

Alaska

Contact Information:

Jodi Fondy
CRP Coordinator
Admin@crpalaska.org
www.crpalaska.org

Arizona

Contact Information:

Sandra Lescoe
Arizona State University School of Social Work
(602) 496-1487
Sandra.Lescoe@asu.edu
child-wellbeing.asu.edu/content/arizona-citizen-review-panels-0

Arkansas

Contact Information:

Lindsay McCoy
Program Manager
DCFS Division of Children and Family Services
(501) 682-8008
Lindsay.McCoy@dhs.arkansas.gov

California

Contact Information:

Angela Ponivas
Bureau Chief
Office of Child Abuse Prevention
CA Department of Social Services
(916) 657-4709
angela.ponivas@dss.ca.gov
www.childsworld.ca.gov/PG2425.htm
www.smcrp.org

Colorado

Contact Information:

Lorendia Schmidt
CAPTA Administrator
Division of Child Welfare, Colorado Department of Human Services
(303) 866-4268
lorendia.schmidt@state.co.us
www.cdhs.state.co.us

Reports:

CJA Annual Reports
CERT Annual Reports

Connecticut

Contact Information:

Josephine Hawke
Executive Director
FAVOR Inc.
(860) 563-3232 x201

Jenny Bridges
FAVOR, Inc.
jgarcia@favor-ct.org

Delaware

Contact Information:

Rosalie Morales
Program Administrator
Office of the Child Advocate
(302) 255-1730
Rosie.Morales@state.de.us
courts.delaware.gov/childadvocate/index.aspx

Reports:

Annual Reports
2015 Joint Action Plan
2016-2017 Action Plan

Washington, D.C.

Contact Information:

Emily Smith Goering
Vice Chair (Serving as interim chair)
202-798-3424
egoering@umaryland.edu

Joyce Thomas
Facilitator
202-544-3144
joyce@childprotection.org
www.dc-crp.org

Annual Report: http://www.dc-crp.org/CRP_Annual_Report_2017.pdf

Florida

Contact Information:

Erin D. Hough
Prevention Specialist
Office of Child Welfare, Florida Department of Children and Families
(850) 717-4658
Erin.Hough@myflfamilies.com
www.dcf.state.fl.us/initiatives/
Work Group Report
www.flcadr.org/
www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/indliving/AdvisoryCouncil/index.shtml/

Georgia

Contact Information:

Deb Farrell
CAPTA Panel & CJA Task Force Project Coordinator
c/o Care Solutions Inc.
(770) 642-7622
debfarrell@caresolutions.com
www.GACRP.com

Hawai'i

Contact Information:

Akikatsu Kaz Minoyama, MSW
Assistant Program Administrator
SOH, DHS, SSD, CWSB
Program Development
aminoyama@dhs.hawaii.gov

Illinois

Contact Information:

Shirley Davis-Barsh
Grant Manager Supervisor
Department of Children and Family Services
(312) 814-5510
Shirley.Davis-Barsh@Illinois.gov
www.state.il.us/DCFS/library/index.shtml

Indiana

Contact Information:

Kyle D. Gaddis
Attorney/Federal Compliance Manager
Indiana Department of Child Services
(317) 234-6626
Kyle.Gaddis@dcs.in.gov
www.in.gov/dcs

Iowa

Contact Information:

Tricia Barto
CJA/CAPTA Program Manager
Iowa Department of Human Services
(515) 281-7151
pbarto@dhs.state.ia.us

Kansas

Contact Information:

Susan Gile
Program Administrator
Kansas Department for Children and Families
(785) 296-5254
Susan.Gile@ks.gov
www.ag.ks.gov/scdrb

Kentucky

Contact Information:

LaToya Burns Vaughn
Program Coordinator
Citizen Review Panel/Children’s Justice Act Task Force
(859) 257-7210
Latoya.Vaughn@uky.edu
http://trc.uky.edu/citizens-review-panel/

Louisiana

Contact Information:

Rose Sam
Department of Children and Family Services
(225) 342-9141
Rose.Sam@la.gov

Maine

Contact Information:

Jan Bielau-Nivus
CAPTA Panel Coordinator
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Child and Family Services
(207) 626-8660
www.childabuseactionnetwork.com

Maryland

Contact Information:

State Citizens Review Board for Children
Denise E. Wheeler
Administrator
(410) 238-1337
denise.wheeler@maryland.gov
www.dhr.state.md.us/crbc

State Council on Child Abuse & Neglect
Claudia Remington
410-767-7868
claudia.remington@maryland.gov

State Child Fatality Review Team
Richa Ranade
410-767-3702
richa.ranade@maryland.gov
http://www.fha.state.md.us/mch/cfr

Massachusetts

Contact Information:

Liz Skinner-Reilly
MA Department of Social Services
(617) 748-2350
Liz.Skinner-Reilly@state.ma.us

Michigan

Contact Information:

Tonya Randall
State Coordinator
Governor’s Task Force on Child Abuse and Neglect
(989) 293-6181
Randall2@michigan.gov

Michael Foley
Executive Director
Michigan Children’s Trust Fund
(517) 373-4320
foleym2@michigan.gov

Nicole DeWitt
Special Projects Facilitator, Child Death Review
Michigan Public Health Institute
(517) 324-7336
ndewitt@mphi.org

Minnesota

Contact Information:

Mary Doyle
Minnesota Department of Human Services
(651) 431-4704
mary.doyle@state.mn.us
www.dhs.stste.mn.us

Mississippi

Contact Information:

Brian Lewis
Mississippi Department of Child Protection Services
(601) 359-4495
brian.lewis@mdcps.ms.gov
mdcps.ms.gov

Missouri

Contact Information:

Christy Collins
Policy and Practice Coordinator
Children's Division - Central Office
573-751-9603
christy.collins@dss.mo.gov
www.dss.mo.gov

Cari Pointer
Task Force on Children’s Justice Panel-CJA Liaison
Child Fatality Review Program Panel Member–Liaison
CANRB-Facilitator
Children's Division
(573) 751-8930
Cari.A.Pointer@dss.mo.gov
www.governor.mo.gov/boards/
www.dss.mo.gov/stat/sp.htm
www.dss.mo.gov/cd/cjtf/index.htm

Montana

Contact Information:

Meaghan Kolar
Program Manager
Child and Family Services Division
(406) 841-2467
mkolar@mt.gov

Nebraska

Contact Information:

Connie J. Pfeifer
Program Specialist
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
(402) 471-9245
connie.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Contact Information:

Hayley Jarolimek
Nevada Division of Child and Family Services
(702) 486-4226
hjarolimek@dcfs.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Contact Information:

Michael Donati
Division for Children, Youth and Families
(603) 271-8159
mdonati@dhhs.state.nh.us

New Mexico

Contact Information:

Shelly A. Bucher, LMSW
Manager
Substitute Care Advisory Council
505-469-4781
shelly.bucher@state.nm.us
www.nmcrb.org

New York

Contact Information:

Jennifer Goldman
Citizen Review Panel Coordinator
Welfare Research, Inc.
(518) 713-4726 ext. 206
www.citizenreviewpanelsny.org/

Reports:

Annual Reports

North Carolina

Contact Information:

Deborah Day
Community Based Programs Administrator
NC Division of Social Services
(919) 527-6436
deborah.day@dhhs.nc.gov
www.ncdhhs.gov/

North Dakota

Contact Information:

Marlys Baker
Child Protection Services Administrator
ND Department of Human Services
701-328-1853
mbaker@nd.gov

Ohio

Contact Information:

Deanna Herold
Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
Office of Families and Children
Child Protection Section
614-387-8097
Deanna.Herold@jfs.ohio.gov
SCFRAC: www.odh.ohio.gov/odhPrograms/cfhs/cfr/cfr1.aspx
Stark County Juvenile Court CRB: www.starkcountyohio.gov/family-court/casa-guardian-ad-litem-and-the-citizens-review-boa

Oklahoma

Contact Information:

Lisa Rhoades
Oklahoma Child Death Review Board
(405) 606-4900
Lisa.Rhoades@occy.ok.gov
www.ok.gov/occy

Oregon

Contact Information:

Amy Benedum, J.D.
Oregon CRP Coordinator & Program Analyst, Juvenile & Family Court Programs Division
Oregon Judicial Department
503-986-5644
amy.e.benedum@ojd.state.or.us
courts.oregon.gov/CRB

Reports:

Annual Reports

Pennsylvania

Contact Information:

Bonnie Watson
CAPTA Program Development Specialist
University of Pittsburgh’s Child Welfare Resource Center
(717) 795-9048
bjw65@pitt.edu
www.pacwrc.pitt.edu/CAPTA.htm

Puerto Rico

Contact Information:

Carlos Rivera Otero
Auxiliary Administrator of Protection Services
Principal Coordinator of the Puerto Rico Citizen Review Panel

(787)625-4900, ext. 1725
carlos.rivera@familia.pr.gov

Rhode Island

Contact Information:

C. Lee Baker, MPA, MA
Office of the Director
Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and Families
(401) 528-3837
Lee.Baker@dcyf.ri.gov

South Carolina

Contact Information:

Michelle Dhunjishah
Director, Children’s Law Center
University of South Carolina School of Law
(803) 929-3172
DHUNJISH@mailbox.sc.edu
http://childlaw.sc.edu

South Dakota

Contact Information:

JoLynn Bostrom
Program Specialist
Child Protection Services
Department of Social Services
(605) 773-3227
jolynn.bostrom@state.sd.us
www.dss.sd.gov/cps/

Tennessee

Contact Information:

Toni Lawal, MS
University of Tennessee
College of Social Work
Office of Research & Public Services
(615) 782-6122
tlawal@utk.edu

Reports:

Annual Reports

Texas

Contact Information:

Valinda Bolton
Department of Family & Protective Services
(512) 438-3303
Valinda.bolton@dfps.state.tx.us
www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/CRT/default.asp

Utah

Contact Information:

Carol Miller
State of Utah-Division of Child and Family Services
(801) 538-4100
carolmiller@utah.gov
www.utah.gov/pmn/index.html

Virginia

Contact Information:

Christopher R. Spain
CPS Program Manager
Virginia Department of Social Services
(804) 726-7554

Washington

Contact Information:

Stephanie Frazier
Children’s Administration
(360) 902-7922
FraziSM@dshs.wa.gov

West Virginia

Contact Information:

Misty Prillaman
Health and Human Resource Specialist, Senior
WV Department of Health and Human Resources
304-256-6930, ext. 56614
MistyD.Prillaman@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Contact Information:

Paula L. Brown, MSW, APSW
Prevention Initiatives Coordinator
State of Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
Division of Safety and Permanence
(608)422-6960
PaulaL.Brown@wisconsin.gov
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/prevention/crp

Wyoming

Contact Information:

Erin Swilling
Executive Director
Wyoming Citizen Review Panel
(307)632-0032
eswilling@wycrp.org
www.wycrp.org

CRP Resources and Publications

Browse the links below to learn more about the role of citizen review panels, updates on state CRP activities, and strategies for success.

National CRP Directory

Download the 2017 National CRP Directory for a brief description of and contact information for each state's CRPs.

Articles
  • Collins-Camargo, C., Buckwalter, N. & Jones, B. L. (2016). Perceptions of state child welfare administrators regarding federally-mandated citizen review panels. Children and Youth Services Review. 62, 83-89.
  • Miller, J., & Jones, B. (2015). Using concept mapping as a planning tool: Child welfare Citizen Review Panels. Evaluation and Planning: The International Journal, 53, 99 – 106.
  • Bryan, V., Collins-Camargo, C., & Jones, B. (2011). Reflections on citizen-state child welfare partnerships: Listening to citizen review panel volunteers and agency liaisons. Children and Youth Services Review, 32, 1, 986-1010.
  • Bryan, V., Jones, B.L. & Lawson. (2010). Key features of effective citizen–state child welfare partnerships: Findings from a national study of citizen review panels. Children and Youth Services Review, 32, 4, 595-603.
  • Collins-Camargo, C., Jones, B.L, & Krusich, S. (2009). The “Spinach” of Citizen Participation in Public Child Welfare: Strategies for Involving Citizens in Public Child Welfare. Journal of Public Child Welfare, 3, 287-304.
  • Jones, B.L. & Royse, D. (2008) Citizen review panels: The connection between training and perceived effectiveness. Child Abuse & Neglect: The International Journal) 32, 918-919.
  • Jones, B.L. & Royse, D. (2008) Citizen review panels for child protective services: A national profile. Child Welfare, (87), 3, 143-162.
  • Bryan, V., Jones, B.L., Allen, E. & Collins-Camargo, C. (2007) Child and Youth Services Review Civic Engagement or Token Participation? Perceived Impact of the Citizen Review Panel Initiative in Kentucky. 29, 1286–1300
  • Jones, B. L. (2004) Variables Impacting the Effectiveness of Citizens Review Panels For Child Protective Services: A Multi-state Study. Children and Youth Services Review, (26) 12, 1117-1127.
  • Jones, B.L., Litzelfelner, P. & Ford, J.P. (2003) Making a Change or Making a Report: Change Perceptions of Citizens Review Panel Members and Child Protective Workers. Child Abuse & Neglect: The International Journal., (27) 699-704.
  • Litzelfelner, P., Collins-Camargo, C. & Jones, B. L. (2003) Models for Involving Citizens in the Child Welfare System in Kentucky: An Overview. Kentucky Children’s Rights Journal., Spring, 2003.

National CRP Advisory Panel

Theresa Costello
Director, National Resource Center for Child Protective Services, Deputy Director, ACTION for Child Protection

Deb Farrell
Care Solutions

Julie Fliss
Child Welfare Program Specialist, Office on Child Abuse and Neglect, Children's Bureau, ACF, HHS

Sandra Lescoe
Arizona State University School of Social Work

Justin "Jay" Miller, Ph.D
University of Kentucky College of Social Work

Angela Tyner, Esq.
Director of Advocacy and Program Development, Georgia Court Appointed Special Advocates, Inc.

Diwakar Vadapalli, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of Alaska Anchorage