Logo of the national citizen review panels

National Citizens Review Panels Virtual Community

Citizen Review Panels (CRPs) are federally mandated mechanisms for citizen participation in child protection, through evaluation and public outreach. Each state is required to have at least one CRP. Volunteer panel members conduct an evaluation of their state and local child protective services (CPS) agencies, and collect public opinion on CPS policies and services. This site contains resources and tips for CRPs, as well as information about each state's CRP, including annual reports, and training materials.

  Like the National CRP Facebook page for frequent updates.

State Information

Click a state for more information.

Alabama

Contact Information:

Hope Skelton
Program Supervisor
SDHR/Office of Quality Assurance
(334) 242-9506
Hope.Skelton@dhr.alabama.gov
www.DHR.state.al.us

Alaska

Contact Information:

Diwakar Vadapalli
Chair, Alaska CRP
Admin@crpalaska.org
www.crpalaska.org

Arizona

Contact Information:

Sandra Lescoe
Arizona State University School of Social Work
(602) 496-1487
Sandra.Lescoe@asu.edu
cabhp.asu.edu/projects/arizona-citizen-review-panel-program

Arkansas

Contact Information:

Lindsay McCoy
Program Manager
DCFS Division of Children and Family Services
(501) 682-8008
Lindsay.McCoy@dhs.arkansas.gov

California

Contact Information:

Sarah Rock
Bureau Chief
Office of Child Abuse Prevention
(916) 651-6960
Sarah.Rock@ds.ca.gov
www.childsworld.ca.gov/PG2425.htm

Colorado

Contact Information:

Lorendia Schmidt
LCSW, CACII, CAPTA Administrator
Division of Child Welfare, Colorado Department of Human Services
(303) 866-4268
lorendia.schmidt@state.co.us
www.cdhs.state.co.us

Connecticut

Contact Information:

Josephine Hawke
Acting Executive Director
FAVOR Inc.
(860) 563-3232 x201
jhawke@favor-ct.org

Washington, D.C.

Contact Information:

Damon King
damon.king@gmail.com
www.dc-crp.org

Delaware

Contact Information:

Rosalie Morales
Program Administrator
Office of the Child Advocate
(302) 255-1735
Rosie.Morales@state.de.us
www.courts.delaware.gov/childadvocate/cpac/

Florida

Contact Information:

Erin D. Hough
Prevention Specialist
Office of Child Welfare, Florida Department of Children and Families
(850) 717-4658

Georgia

Contact Information:

Deb Farrell
CAPTA Panel & CJA Task Force Project Coordinator
c/o Care Solutions Inc.
(770) 642-7622
debfarrell@caresolutions.com
www.GACRP.com

Hawai'i

Contact Information:

Tracy Yadao
Department of Human Services
c/o Care Solutions Inc.
(808) 586-5699
tyadao@dhs.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Contact Information:

Falen LeBlanc
Idaho Dept. Of Health and Welfare
LeblancF@dhw.idaho.gov
www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/site/3333/default.aspx

Illinois

Contact Information:

Shirley Barsh
Public Service Administrator
(312) 814-5510
Shirley.Davis-Barsh@Illinois.gov
www.state.il.us/DCFS/library/index.shtml

Indiana

Contact Information:

Kimberly S. Miller
Attorney/Federal Compliance Manager
Indiana Department of Child Services
(317) 512-8536
Kimberley.miller@dcs.in.gov
www.in.gov/dcs

Iowa

Contact Information:

Lisa Bender
Program Manager
LMSW, Child Abuse Pravention and Treatment
(515) 281-8787
lbender@dhs.state.ia.us

Kansas

Contact Information:

Susan Gile
Program Administrator
Assessment, Prevention and Interstate Placements
Kansas Department for Children and Families
(785) 296-5254
Susan.Gile@ks.gov
www.ag.ks.gov/scdrb

Kentucky

Contact Information:

LaToya Burns Vaughn
Program Coordinator
Citizen Review Panel/Children’s Justice Act Task Force
(859) 257-7210
Latoya.Vaughn@uky.edu
http://128.163.123.12/citizens-review-panel/

Louisiana

Contact Information:

Rose Sam
Department of Children and Family Services
(225) 342-6509
Rose.Sam@LA.GOV

Maine

Contact Information:

John Jacobs
CAPTA Panels Coordinator
Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Child and Family Services
(207) 626-0886
john.jacobs@maine.gov
www.childabuseactionnetwork.com

Maryland

Contact Information:

George Randall
PhD Candidate
LGSW
(410) 238-1341
dwheele2@dhr.state.md.us
www.dhr.state.md.us/crbc

Massachusetts

Contact Information:

Liz Skinner-Reilly
MA Department of Children and Families
(617) 748-2350
Liz.Skinner-Reilly@state.ma.us
www.mass.gov/DCF

Michigan

Contact Information:

Sheldon Kinney
Department of Human Services
(517) 241-6131
KinneyS@Michigan.gov

Minnesota

Contact Information:

Mary Doyle
Minnesota Department of Human Services
(651) 431-4704
mary.doyle@state.mn.us
www.dhs.stste.mn.us

Mississippi

Contact Information:

Tasha Smith
Division Director of Prevention
Division of Family and Children's Services
(601) 359-4696
tasha.smith@mdhs.ms.gov
www.mdhs.state.ms.us/fcs_citizen.htm

Missouri

Contact Information:

Christy Collins
Unit Manager
Children's Division
(573) 522-8024
christy.collins@dss.mo.gov
www.dss.mo.gov

Montana

Contact Information:

Meaghan Kolar
Program Manager
Child and Family Services Division
(406) 841-2467
mkolar@mt.gov

Nebraska

Contact Information:

Connie J. Pfeifer
Program Specialist
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
(402) 471-9245
connie.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Contact Information:

Andrew Zeiser
(775) 786-1328
andrew@azconsulting.us

New Hampshire

Contact Information:

Christy Collins
Unit Manager
Children's Division
(573) 522-8024
christy.collins@dss.mo.gov
www.dss.mo.gov

New Jersey

Contact Information:

Christy Collins
Unit Manager
Children's Division
(573) 522-8024
christy.collins@dss.mo.gov
www.dss.mo.gov

New Mexico

Contact Information:

Christy Collins
Unit Manager
Children's Division
(573) 522-8024
christy.collins@dss.mo.gov
www.dss.mo.gov

New York

Contact Information:

Judy Stanger
Citizen Review Panel Coordinator
Welfare Research, Inc.
(518) 713-4726
Fax: (518) 608- 5435
Cell: (845)649-4642
JStanger@welfareresearch.org
www.citizenreviewpanelsny.org/

North Carolina

Contact Information:

Eric Zechman
Program Manager
Community Based Programs
NC Division of Social Services
(919) 527-6433
eric.zechman@dhhs.nc.gov
www2.ncdhhs.gov/dss/ccpt/

North Dakota

Contact Information:

Tara Lea Muhlhauser, J.D.
Deputy Director, Children & Family Services Division
Child Protection Services Administrator
ND Department of Human Services
(701) 328-3587
somuht@nd.gov

Ohio

Contact Information:

Toni Gillette
Ohio Department of Job and Family Services
Office of Families and Children
Child Protection Section
(614) 752-3699
Toni.J.Gillette@jfs.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Contact Information:

Lisa Rhoades
Oklahoma Child Death Review Board
(405) 606-4900
Lisa.Rhoades@occy.ok.gov
www.ok.gov/occy

Oregon

Contact Information:

Amy Benedum, J.D.
Oregon CRP Coordinator & Program Analyst, Juvenile & Family Court Programs Division
Oregon Judicial Department
(541) 986-5644
amy.e.benedum@ojd.state.or.us
courts.oregon.gov/CRB

Pennsylvania

Contact Information:

Bonnie Watson
CAPTA Program Development Specialist
University of Pittsburgh’s Child Welfare Resource Center
(717) 795-9048
bjw65@pitt.edu
www.pacwrc.pitt.edu/CAPTA.htm

Puerto Rico

Contact Information:

Iris Colón
Department of Family
Administration of Children & Families
(787)625-4900, ext. 1264
icolon@adfan.gobierno.pr

Rhode Island

Contact Information:

C. Lee Baker, MPA, MA
Title
Office of the Director
Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and Families
(401) 528-3837
Lee.Baker@dcyf.ri.gov

South Carolina

Contact Information:

Cheryl Wilson Worrell
Program Coordinator
SC Citizen Review Panels
(866) 263-3139; (803) 777-9404
sccrp@sc.edu
http://sccrp.sc.edu/

South Dakota

Contact Information:

Jaime Reiff
Program Specialist
Child Protection Services
Department of Social Services
(605) 773-3227
jaime.reiff@state.sd.us
www.dss.sd.gov/cps/

Tennessee

Contact Information:

Toni Lawal, MS
Title
University of Tennessee
College of Social Work
Office of Research & Public Services
(615) 782-6122
tlawal@utk.edu

Texas

Contact Information:

Denise McDonald
Department of Family & Protective Services
(512) 438-3303
Denise.mcdonald@dfps.state.tx.us
www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Protection/CRT/default.asp

Utah

Contact Information:

Carol Miller
State of Utah-Division of Child and Family Services
(801) 538-4100
carolmiller@utah.gov
www.utah.gov/pmn/index.html

Vermont

Contact Information:

Contact Person
Title
Organization
(###) ###-####
Email
Website

Virginia

Contact Information:

Rita L. Katzman
CPS Program Manager
Virginia Department of Social Services
(804) 726-7554
Rita.katzman@dss.virginia.gov

Washington

Contact Information:

Keli Drake, MSW
Children’s Administration
(360) 902-7871
Keli.Drake@dshs.wa.gov

West Virginia

Contact Information:

Carla Harper
Program Manager
WV Department of Health and Human Resources
304-356-4571
Carla.J.Harper@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Contact Information:

Paula L. Brown, MSW, APSW
Prevention Initiatives Coordinator
State of Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
Division of Safety and Permanence
(608)422-6960
PaulaL.Brown@wisconsin.gov
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/children/citizen_review/default.htm

Wyoming

Contact Information:

Erin Swilling
Executive Director
Wyoming Citizen Review Panel
(307)632-0032
eswilling@wycrp.org
www.wycrp.org

Upcoming Events

Save the Date: 16th National Citizen Review Panel Conference

May 10-12, 2017

16th National Citizen Review Panel Conference

Mark your calendars for the 2017 National Conference! The 2017 National CRP Conference will provide an opportunity to explore various challenges and opportunities to find common ground and foster constructive CRP-CPS relationships. The conference theme, "Common Goals, Many Paths," is a recognition that shared goals may not always mean shared understanding of those goals, and that collaborative relationship and constructive dialogue helps in finding common ground. Visit the conference website to find out more.

National CRP Advisory Panel

Theresa Costello
Director, National Resource Center for Child Protective Services, Deputy Director, ACTION for Child Protection.

Julie Fliss
Child Welfare Program Specialist, Office on Child Abuse and Neglect, Children's Bureau, ACF, HHS

Blake Jones, Ph.D.
National CRP Coordinator

Sandra Lescoe
Arizona State University School of Social Work

Rose L. Sam, M.S.W.
Program Manager, Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) State Office/Field Operations

Angela Tyner, Esq.
Director of Advocacy and Program Development, Georgia Court Appointed Special Advocates, Inc.

Diwakar Vadapalli, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of Alaska Anchorage

Cheryl Worrell, M.P.A.
The Center for Child and Family Studies, University of South Carolina